Diablo 4 Vessel of Hatred Expansion: Release Date & Everything We Know

The highly anticipated cinematic for the Diablo 4 DLC Vessel of Hatred was unveiled at the 2024 Xbox Games Showcase, centering around the story of Mephisto, the Prime Evil and father of Lilith, who is also the brother of Diablo.

Although Diablo 4’s seasons primarily provide a different experience of playing the game, Vessel of Hatred will introduce a completely new storyline, including a new area to discover, a new character class, and a range of fresh features to experience. This will also mark the inaugural annual expansion for Diablo 4.

Diablo 4 expansion
Blizzard Entertainment

Mephisto will be back in force in Vessel of Hatred.

Diablo 4: Vessel of Hatred Release Date

The release date for Diablo 4’s Vessel of Hatred has been set for October 8, 2024.

After the initial campaign of Diablo 4, the expansion picks up with Neyrelle’s journey alongside Mephisto’s soul stone.

Vessel of Hatred platforms

Similar to the original game, Diablo 4’s Vessel of Hatred expansion will be playable on Xbox Series X|S, PC, and both PS4 and PlayStation 5.

Vessel of Hatred trailer for Diablo 4

The trailer and cinematic for Diablo 4 Vessel of Hatred’s official release date were unveiled on June 9, 2024, during the Xbox Games Showcase 2024.

The 3-minute trailer depicted Neyrelle struggling with the consequences of her decision to trap the Prime Evil Mephisto in a stone and embarking on a journey to vanquish him in the unexplored land of Nahantu.

As she carries the stone to Akarat’s tomb to destroy it, she is comforted by a vision of her mother Vhenard who calls out to her.

It is revealed that the vision is, in fact, Mephisto in disguise attempting to seize control of Neyrelle and escape. However, Neyrelle manages to break free from the illusion and continues on her journey.

Vessel of Hatred – new Spiritborn class

Diablo 4’s Vessel of Hatred will feature a brand new class called the Spiritborn. Following the trend set in Diablo Immortal, the game will introduce a completely original class instead of rehashing an existing one. This class will originate from the DLC’s new region and will belong to a warrior group that has emerged to protect their territory from Mephisto.

The Spiritborn will have a gameplay style that combines elements of the Witch Doctor and Monk. This class will excel at defeating enemies with their enchanted weapons, executing potent combination attacks, and utilizing lethal poisons and shadow magic to easily defeat demons.

It will be intriguing to discover whether the Spiritborn will possess any of the Witch Doctor’s voodoo and summoning talents, or if the Necromancer and Druid classes will continue to be the only ones to utilize this type of attack. The Spiritborn will be accessible to all who acquire the DLC and can be utilized to progress through the original campaign.

Diablo 4 Spiritborn Class
Blizzard Entertainment

The Spiritborn class will be a mixture of the Witch Doctor and Monk.

Diablo 4: Vessel of Hatred – New Features

The recently released Vessel of Hatred trailer has confirmed that players will once again journey through the familiar jungles of Kurast, while also unveiling new regions to explore. Given that Kurast was the original hunting ground of Mephisto in Diablo 2, it is safe to assume that the upcoming DLC will be closely connected to the events of the previous game.

Along with the addition of pets in Diablo 4 during Season 4, the Vessel of Hatred DLC will also bring back mercenaries. This feature, inspired by Diablo 2, will function similarly to the Follower system in Diablo 3. It will allow players to carefully choose and equip their mercenaries with armor, weapons, and other items.

In addition, the DLC will offer the player the opportunity to equip various mounts that are indigenous to the jungle areas. Pre-ordering the expansion will also grant access to exclusive pets, mounts, and gear.

As we anticipate the release of Diablo 4 Vessel of Hatred, you can browse through our build guides for the Barbarian, Necromancer, Rogue, Druid, and Sorcerer classes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *